What time do envelopes expire?

Envelope expiration and reminder email notifications typically occur based on the day that the envelope was sent. The day is calculated based on the sending account's time zone. 

When setting up expirations in the Advanced Options section of your envelope, a specific date is displayed for "Request will be scheduled for expiration on," as seen in the below example:
envelope_expiration.jpg
This is the earliest time at which the envelope will expire, though the actual expiration event may be up to 24 hours later due to how expirations are processed.

 

Example #1: Number of days before request expires = 1 day

Envelope Sent: 11/25/2019 12:30:52 PM PST (11/25/2019 08:30:52 PM UTC)
Estimated: Request will be scheduled for expiration on 26-11-19 
Envelope Expired (Actual): 11/27/2019 01:22:16 AM PST (11/27/2019 09:22:16 AM UTC)
Duration from Sent to Expired = 1 day, 12 hours, 51 minutes and 24 seconds (aka approx 36 hours after sent or 1.5 hours after the estimate)

 

Example #2: Number of days before request expires = 2 days

Envelope Sent: 11/25/2019 12:32:03 PM PST (11/25/2019 08:32:03 PM UTC)
Estimated: Request will be scheduled for expiration on 27-11-19 
Envelope Expired (Actual): 11/28/2019 01:25:21 AM PST (11/28/2019 09:25.21 UTC)
Duration from Sent to Expired = 2 days, 12 hours, 53 minutes and 18 seconds (aka approx. 60 hours after sent or 1.5 hours after the estimate)

Best practice: Enter a low value for the option Number of days in which to warn signers before expiration, such as 3 days. Warning signers of a expiring envelope improves the likelihood of getting envelopes to complete, rather than expiring.


Learn More