DocuSign Rooms For Real Estate FAQ

General Questions 

1) What is the difference between DocuSign eSignature and DocuSign Rooms for Real Estate?
DocuSign eSignature and DocuSign Rooms for Real Estate are two separate applications. 
DocuSign Rooms for Real Estate is a Real Estate specific document management tool.
It allows Brokers and Agents to manage their transactions effectively through a connected experience. You can create and close transactions electronically within a Transaction Room. You can create a connected experience by inviting all the necessary participants, share out information and documents, as well as execute documents.
DocuSign eSignature provides the electronic signature technology.  Once you have setup both accounts, you can easily connect the two by entering your DocuSign credentials into your DocuSign Rooms for Real Estate account settings. This allows you to fully send and sign documents with electronic signature, right from your transactions in DocuSign Rooms for Real Estate. 

 
2) Do I use the same login credentials for both? 
Yes, you should use the same login for Rooms and eSignature.

In extremely rare situations, there may be old legacy accounts where this is not the case.

 
3) Is there a way to see if I am already activated? 
1. Log into DocuSign eSignature: https://docusign.net/Member/MemberLogin.aspx
2. In the App Switcher, switch to DocuSign Rooms. You may also see the Switch to Rooms option in the Dropdown menu in the upper right corner.
 
4) Is there a way to share out documents with my whole Brokerage? 
Yes, you can set up a Shared Folder. Please note that this has to be set up on the platform - please create a case for our Support team.

5) What is the maximum storage limit per account? 
100 GB - this is roughly over 150,000 documents, based on our average. More storage is available for purchase if needed.


My Account Questions 

1) Who sees my Profile/Contact Information? 
Your Profile and Contact Information are visible to all members on your DocuSign Rooms for Real Estate account, as well as those invited into rooms that you are directly working with. 
 
2) Why are we receiving another email address/fax number? 
We provide a new inbound email and new fax, in case you choose to use them. They allow you to direct documents and email conversations to your DocuSign Rooms for Real Estate account quickly and seamlessly. This keeps your documents organized and centrally located.
 
3) Can I set up my Agents' Account Settings? 
No, each user will need to configure their own personal Account Settings (contact info, etc.).
 
4) Can my Agents share a DocuSign/zipForms account? 
No, each user will need to use their own zipForms/zipLogix account. You are unable to share login credentials.
User-added image


Network Questions 

1) Can I add people to my Directory? 
No, your Directory is like your digital ongoing Rolodex. It displays a list of members of your Brokerage Account, as well as any participants you've worked with in your Transactions. 
 
2) Can I remove people from my Directory? 
You cannot remove someone directly from your Directory, but if they are removed from all Rooms you are associated with then they will be taken off of your directory. 


My Docs Questions 

1) Can everyone see the documents I upload? 
Your personal "My Docs" tab and "Inbox" tab are private (your eyes only).
User-added image
Documents within your Rooms, you can turn visibility on/off for collaborators you invite. Managers with access to your transaction rooms will be able to see the documents as well.

 
2) Is this where I store my DocuSign Templates? 
Since DocuSign eSignature and DocuSign Rooms are separate applications, the Templates will always remain in your DocuSign eSignature account. You can store the source document that makes up the Template in your "My Docs" tab. From there, you can copy and/or move it to the necessary Transaction Room and send it over as a DocuSign Envelope for electronic signature, at which point you can apply a Template as an overlay (bring in the data fields, etc.).
 
3) What's the difference between Copying a document and Moving a document? 
Copying a document will leave a version of the document in My Docs or your Inbox, while moving it will move the version completely to the Transaction Room, without leaving the original copy in your My Docs or Inbox. 
User-added image
 
  4) Can I edit the document once it's uploaded to My Docs? 
Once a document is uploaded to My Docs, the content on the form is not editable.  For PDFs, we do have a built in .pdf editing tool that allows you to split or combine .pdf files easily.

Inbox Questions

1) Where can I find my DocuSign Rooms for Real Estate email address?

On the Inbox Details page, you can customize your DocuSign-provided inbound email address and, if you haven't already done so, request an inbound fax number.

2) I like to keep track of my communication in my email threads. Can I have that sent directly to my Room Account?
You can create a PDF file of your email correspondence by including “#PDF” in the email subject line.

3) Can anyone send emails to my Inbox? 
Anyone who has access to the email address may send over attachments and/or create a PDF of their email correspondence (by adding “#PDF” to the subject).  

4) Can I customize my Fax Number?
Though you cannot create your own fax number, DocuSign Support can reassign you a fax number with a preferred area code (if available).


Dashboard Questions 

1) Can I export the Brokerage information into a CSV/XML file? 
The information from the Brokerage Tab cannot be exported into a CSV/XML file. 

2) What does the notification by Dashboard reflect?
It reflects how many tasks are Past Due.


Room Questions 

1) Differences between the Active, Review, and Closed Rooms
Active: Rooms that are being built.
 
Review: Rooms that have been submitted for review (only once the full Room has been submitted for review, not a task).

Closed: Rooms that have been fully reviewed, approved, and closed. Once a deal is moved to the Closed section, it cannot be moved back to Active or Review, thus making it a finalized deal.  Agents and Managers can always return to review/download the history, documents, etc. 
 User-added image
 
2) What's visible to who in the DocuSign Room? 
Anyone above you in the Hierarchy will have visibility into your DocuSign Room and Documents added to the Room (i.e. a Regional Manager will see all of their Office's transactions as well as the Agents within the Office).
 User-added image
 
3) Can any participant in a Room see the Documents I add? 
Only users above you in the Hierarchy will have automatically have visibility. Depending on your Company settings, users with the same access level may or may not automatically see the documents. Outside participants will always have to be manually granted access.  
 
4) Can any participant in a DocuSign Room invite another participant? 
Yes, any participant has the ability to invite another participant.   
 
5) Can you use templates when sending out an Envelope? 
Yes, you can use a template when sending an Envelope from Transaction Room. You won't be able to apply the template until you get to the DocuSign Envelope screen.
 
6) Can I configure the Roles for a Room Participant? 
Yes, using Rooms for Real Estate v6. This is not available for Rooms v5. If you are on Rooms v5 and would like to transition to Rooms v6, please contact your DocuSign Account team.
 
7) Can I configure the Details tab? 
Currently, only admins can configure the information on the details tab.
 
8) Who can approve Rooms / Tasks? 
Manager level users are the only members who can approve a Transaction Room / Task.